Never a Hero by Marie Sexton

This is book 5 in the Tucker Springs Series.

  • Where Nerves End (book #1) by L.A. Witt
  • Second Hand (book #2) by Marie Sexton
  • Dirty Laundry (book #3) by Heidi Cullinan
  • Covet Thy Neighbor (book #4) by L.A. Witt
  • Never A Hero (book #5) by Marie Sexton

Never a Hero (Tucker Springs, #5)Never a Hero by Marie Sexton

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Blurb…

Everyone deserves a hero.

Owen Meade is desperately in need of a hero. Raised by a mother who made him ashamed of his stutter, his sexual orientation, and his congenitally amputated arm, Owen lives like a hermit in his Tucker Springs apartment. But then hunky veterinarian Nick Reynolds moves in downstairs.

Nick is sexy and confident, and makes Owen comfortable with himself in a way nobody ever has. He also introduces Owen to his firecracker of a little sister, who was born with a similar congenital amputation but never let it stand in her way. When she signs the two of them up for piano lessons—and insists that they play together in a recital—Owen can’t find a way to say no. Especially since it gives him a good excuse to spend more time with Nick.

Owen knows he’s falling hard for his neighbor, but every time he gets close, Nick inexplicably pulls away. Battling his mother’s scorn and Nick’s secrets, Owen soon realizes that instead of waiting for a hero, it’s time to be one—for himself and for Nick.

So what did I think?

It was nice to revisit Tucker Springs and disappear into the lives of Owen and Nick.

This is the story of Owen, a young man who is hugely self-conscious of his physical disability and has hidden himself away from the world. He has felt like a disappointment his whole life and being gay is only another reason to disappoint his mother. So he is not going to be gay! That’s working pretty well until Nick moves in downstairs.

The plot is slightly predictable – I was able to determine the reason for Nick’s reluctance to start a relationship long before he announced it – but it was still an enjoyable albeit frustrating journey.

It was great to see Owen’s character develop through the book, from a stuttering man who did not want to leave his home, to a man confident enough to fight for what he wanted. He was able to acknowledge that his missing arm did not define him and that his own fear and actions were resulting in his life not moving forward. He could see through Nick’s stubbornness and finally understand the reasons for his behaviour. Owen developed the strength to make his own decisions and take control of his life.

3.5 stars (rounded to 4 :))

4 Stars

For my review of  Covet Thy Neighbor

For more information on Marie Sexton and her books, visit her website.

Buy Never a Hero at Amazon

View all my reviews


The Coda Books by Marie Sexton

Coda Book 1Coda A to ZCoda Book 3Coda Book 4Coda Book 5

This is a wonderful series! 

4 Stars

Reading Order

  • Promises (Coda Book 1)
  • A to Z (Coda Book 2)
  • The Letter Z (Coda Book 3)
  • The Promise (Coda Book 3.5)
  • Strawberries for Dessert (Coda Book 4)
  • Putting Out Fires (Coda Book 4.5)
  • Paris A to Z (Coda Book 5)

So what is the series about?

This series focuses on a group of men who live in the small mountain town of Coda in Colorado.

The blurb….

Promises:  Jared lives in a small town with only one other gay man living in it so Jared thinks he will spend his life alone. That is until Matt joins the Coda Police Department. They become friends but Jared wants more but doesn’t think things will work out as both men face problems including disapproving family and harassment from co-workers.

A to Z: Zach’ life is not going anywhere, with relationship problems and a failing business. He employs Angelo, a young man who has been on his own since he was sixteen. Raised in foster care, he doesn’t trust anyone and is fearful of love and relationships. Angelo and Zach work together to save the business by relocating to Coda and of course, discover love on the way.

The Letter Z: This book brings the two couples together. Zach and Angelo run their business and live in Coda and are good friends Matt and Jared. Zach and Angelo are settling into their relationship and their is some tension between the group of friends when decisions are not agreed with. On a trip to Vegas,  they run into Zach’s ex-boyfriend which stirs up a lot of issues for Angelo who starts to question his relationship with Zach.

The Promise: A short free story.

Strawberries for Dessert: This book is about the development of a relationship between Jonathan and Cole, two very different men. It starts as a very casual relationship, particularly on Cole’s side but Jon is determined to tackle Cole’s fear of getting close and build a life together.

Putting Out Fires: A Valentine’s Day short story.

Paris A to Z: Zach and Angelo travel to Paris, along with their friends Matt and Jared, to attend a special event. This story includes lots of jealousy as they need to deal with past boyfriend’s and work out what they want from their own futures.

So what did I think?

Promises: A great start to the series. I loved this story of two lonely men finding each other. The supporting characters were well drawn – Lizzy was fabulous – and Jared and Matt were both wonderful.

A to Z:  This book had a really different feel to the first book in the series, probably due to a combination of a factors including the story being told from alternating points of view, the different setting and the new characters. It is not until half way through the book that Jared, Matt and the town of Coda make an appearance. The start of the book was frustrating as I couldn’t stand Tom and just wanted to shake Zach for not seeing what was in front of his face! This story had humour, heartache and a happy ending!

The Letter Z: This is an interesting book to comment on. I like the way the characters from the first 2 books come together and take a trip to Vegas but some of the actions of Angelo and Zach made me so angry (obviously the characters are very well written to elicit such an emotional response) that I almost didn’t want to continue with the story. It was almost a feeling of being let down by Angelo based on what he wanted to do and by Zach for him allowing it. Still it was nicely resolved in the end.

Strawberries for Dessert: I started this book with mixed feelings as I didn’t particularly like Cole from the first books in the series, particularly in relation to his involvement with Angelo. However I really enjoyed this book. Once again it was a bit of surprise, being part of a series but a bit removed from it. The original characters and the Coda location take a backseat to Jonathan and Cole’s story.

Paris A to Z: A great conclusion to the series!

Each book gets 4 stars!

4 Stars

For more information on Marie Sexton and her books, visit her website.

Buy Promises at Amazon

Buy A to Z at Amazon

Buy The Letter Z at Amazon

Buy Strawberries for Dessert at Amazon

Buy Paris A to Z at Amazon