The Texas series (books 1-3) by R.J. Scott

From my archives…

This great series mainly follows one couple, Riley and Jack. As book 4 in the series, Texas Family, is due to be released next month I thought I would share my thoughts on the first 3 books in the series which I read earlier this year.

  • The Heart of Texas (book #1)
  • Texas Winter (book #2)
  • Texas Heat (book #3)
  • Texas Family (book #4) – due for release on 11 October 2013

In The Heart of Texas, Riley marries Jack to spite his father who insists that Riley must ‘marry and stay married for one year to someone he loves’. Seeing a loophole, he makes the most of it!  Jack is a corporate type, while Riley is a rancher. Riley is also the son of Jack’s father’s arch rival so the perfect man for Jack to marry. What follows is a story filled with action and plot twists (and romance of course!)

Texas Winter brings even more drama to the two men as surprises from Riley’s past present them with a situation that neither would have expected. Their story continues in Texas Heat but we are also introduced to a new relationship. Eli, a friend of Riley’s, meets and finds love with Robbie, the new cowboy on the ranch.

I am now really looking forward to Texas Family!

The Heart of Texas (Texas, #1)The Heart of Texas by R.J. Scott

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Thoroughly enjoyed this entertaining book. The story was filled with lots of action and plot twists. The end was very much a who-done-it. A real page turner with great main characters and a large group of interesting support characters.

Both Jack and Riley were strong characters and very likable, not to mention gorgeous. They worked very well together both in bed and out.

Texas Winter (Texas, #2)Texas Winter by R.J. Scott

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This sequel is an enjoyable read. There is still drama with new-found children, family relationships, a bit of corporate foul-play and a shooting but this action all happens around the main characters and does not appear to directly impact on their relationship.

It would have been good to see something really impact on Riley and Jack’s relationship and give the romance more focus.

I also found the use of ‘his husband’ when describing the men very overused plus hated Jack using the nickname ‘het-boy’ for Riley but these were only minor irritations which although used in the first book did not annoy me so much then. I am probably  just being a bit picky !

Overall it, it is a nice addition to the series and great to see more of Riley and Jack!

Texas Heat (Texas, #3)Texas Heat by R.J. Scott

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

This 3rd installment in the Texas series follows the same formula as others in the series. There is a soap opera quality as the story follows the lives of Jack and Riley with new business ventures, corporate dealings, weddings, bar brawls, ex-lover jealously, fashion photo shoots…..
Texas Heat continues the story of Jack and Riley but it also includes a new relationship. Eli, a friend of Riley’s, and Robbie, the new cowboy on the ranch, each have their own issues but find love.

Really nice easy reading.

To find out more about. R.J. Scott and her books, visit her website.

Buy the Texas series from Amazon.

Check out my blog for other reviews of books and series by R.J. Scott as I can highly recommend them all! 


2 comments on “The Texas series (books 1-3) by R.J. Scott

  1. Pingback: Texas Family by R.J. Scott | Because two men are better than one!

  2. Pingback: ❄❄❄ Texas Christmas by RJ Scott ❄❄❄ | Because two men are better than one!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.